Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Vocational excellence recognised at SummitSkills awards

SummitSkills recently recognised and celebrated the talent and exceptional standards of work of employees in the building services engineering sector at its annual Awards for Excellence.

The Awards for Excellence recognise the abilities and commitment of a range of people employed in the building services engineering sector. This year SummitSkills held its awards on Friday 16 November as part of the WorldSkills UK Skills Show event at the NEC in Birmingham, the biggest skills competition in the UK with some 100,000 visitors over three days.

The Skills Show also hosted 60 skills competitions, including the four competitions organised by SummitSkills – SkillELECTRIC, SkillFRIDGE, SkillPIPE and SkillPLUMB. SummitSkills is a strong supporter of the Skills Show.

SummitSkills chief executive Keith Marshall OBE commented: “It was very encouraging to see that so many employers continue to invest in their employees, despite the ongoing challenging financial climate. These awards are a reminder of the outstanding talent and commitment of individuals working in our sector today. Congratulations to all the winners and highly commended candidates – I’m sure they are have a bright future ahead of them.”

The awards – and their winners and highly commended candidates - were:

  • Experienced Existing Worker of the Year (Mechanical) – David Matthews (winner) - Michael Backland (highly commended)
  • Experienced Existing Worker of the Year (Electrical) – Paul Nicoll (winner) - Dave Brooker (highly commended)
  • Technician Engineer of the Year – Kayley Lockhead (winner) – Philip York (highly commended)
  • The Alfred Manly Management Award – Mark Roddy (winner) – Jason Davies (highly commended)
  • Professional Engineer of the Year Award – Paul Eagle (winner) – Ashley Mitchell (highly commended)
  • Environmental Excellence Award – Chris Coath (winner) – Jason Hodds (highly commended)


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.