Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Priority capital funding schools revealed

A priority list of schools will be funded through capital grants due to their urgent need of repair.

Mr Gove admitted that due to the severe condition of some schools, “urgent action is necessary” and announced the government will make a limited amount of capital available to 42 schools including special schools and those in the worst condition.

The full list is as follows:

Barnet: Pardes House Primary School

Birmingham: Hallmoor School; Heathlands Junior and Infant School

Blackpool: Highfurlong School

Brent: St Ursula’s E-ACT Academy

Cambridgeshire: The Manor

Cheshire West and Chester: Highfield Community Primary School

Coventry: Alice Stevens School; Ernesford Grange Community School; Richard Lee Primary School; St Thomas More Catholic Primary School;
Whitmore Park Primary School and Wyken Croft Primary School

Derby: Lees Brook Community School

Devon: Haytor View Community Primary School

Durham: Durham Trinity School and Sports College

Essex: The Edith Borthwick School

Gateshead: Hill Top School

Greenwich: The Eltham Foundation School

Halton: The Heath School

Hertfordshire: Garston Manor School

Isle of Wight: Oakfield C of E Aided Primary School

Kent: Laleham Gap School; The Canterbury Primary School

Lambeth: Lansdowne School

Liverpool: Aigburth High School; Redbridge High School

Manchester: Camberwell Park Specialist Support School

Newham: Stratford School Academy

Nottinghamshire: Fountaindale School

Poole: Montacute School

Sheffield: Fox Hill Primary School; Prince Edward Primary School

Southampton: The Cedar School

St. Helens: Mill Green School

Stockton-on-Tees: Ian Ramsey C of E Aided Comprehensive School

Suffolk: Usworth Grange Primary School

Tameside: Holden Clough Community Primary School; Silver Springs Academy

Waltham Forest: Hawkswood Primary PRU

Wirral: Foxfield School