Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Accolade for Arup graduate

Arup’s Morwenna Wilson has won the 2008 H&V News Building Services Graduate of the Year award sponsored by GEA Denco and organised by the CIBSE/ASHRAE Group.

The former Bristol University student gave a presentation on ‘How do building services engineers meet the challenge of delivering and maintaining sustainable buildings’ at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) in London.

graduate award winners and finalists
Picture produced courtesy of Christophe Delin. For high-res photos click here

Runner-up was Mary-Ann Clarke of FaberMaunsell and Brunel University, with Jayde Auston of BDSP and London South Bank University in third place. The other finalists were Conor Memery from Dublin Institute of Technology and Sophie Dickenson from Heriot-Watt.

Morwenna (pictured centre) will now travel to Chicago to represent the UK industry at the ASHRAE Winter Meeting in January. The second and third placed entrants received generous bursaries from the Rumford Club, presented by its chairman Jim Ure.

To view Morwenna's presentation click here

Morwenna has worked in Arup’s multi-discipline, building engineering team since graduating and her work has already encompassed a wide range of building types. She researched and produced summary guidance documents on biomass boilers that are to be more widely used in her company. She is also a highly respected computational analyst and a member of the CIBSE Young Engineers Network.

The judging panel included ASHRAE president Bill Harrison and CIBSE chief executive Stephen Matthews as well as Denco managing director Mark Shutler and ASHRAE presidential member Richard Rooley. It was chaired by CIBSE/ASHRAE Group chairman Tim Dwyer.

“The quality of all five finalists shows that the future of the building services industry is in good hands,” said Professor Dwyer. “Morwenna is a worthy winner, but the overall standard was very high.”

At the same event, Steve Irving of Faber Maunsell received the annual IMechE Construction and Building Services Division award in recognition of his distinguished career and outstanding contribution to the industry.

Following the awards judging, Mr Harrison delivered the annual ASHRAE Presidential lecture to the assembled audience of over 100 members of the building services industry.

For more details and photos from the awards night click here